Kegels

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kegels

I've been doing these for the past 5 years or so, or at least I think I have! Allow me to explain ...

I'm pretty sure I'm isolating the correct muscles because I do exactly what I do when trying to stop the urine flow. Also, they've been very beneficial in many respects, giving precisely the results that it is claimed kegels produce.

However, what makes me think I may not be doing them like many other PEGym forum members is the fact that I appear able to do so many and for so long - the sort of routine that others (in some cases 30 years my junior) find very tiring, if they can manage it at all!!

Now, please don't take this as bragging on my part because I'm not Superman by any means (unless Superman also had ED problems) but when I read stuff about 'taking a day off to recover' and 'trying to hold for a full minute' etc.. it makes me wonder whether I'm not doing something wrong. Why? Because I can hold for 5 - 10 minutes and do 700+ in one session (perhaps more but I tend to get bored after a while and my mind wanders). Also, I've just read about the 6.5 minutes programme and, although I've not followed this particular routine, I know I could do so without too much effort.

So I'm very suspicious here. For example, I once told my son - who is always in the gym and has mega-muscles - that I could do 50 press-ups but when I demonstrated these to him he told me that I was not actually doing 'real' ones. Then, when I tried these real ones that he showed me I only managed 12!!! This makes me wonder if if I'm not doing an easier form of kegels as well, because there's no way I have better PC muscles and/or fitness levels than some of you chaps in your 20s and 30s.