Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the Cause of ED?

Rex Hopper
    Last edited by Rex Hopper; 01-03-2013, 06:08 AM.

I think that vascular disease, neurological disease, and side effects of medications are all vastly more common causes of ED than are disorders of pelvic floor musculature: Causes of Impotence - Erectile Dysfunction - Urology Channel

Comment

Rex Hopper
      Last edited by Rex Hopper; 01-03-2013, 06:08 AM.

Comment

Rex Hopper
        Last edited by Rex Hopper; 01-03-2013, 06:09 AM.

Comment

I'm not really good at explaining my thoughts to others but i will give it a try. Aging is normal process, meaning everyone goes through it (grey hair, wrinkly skin etc.). It's the body's physiologic process. The fact that not every older guy will eventually have ED by definition means it is not a condition of old age but a pathologic condition (disease state). I think I've read the number is 25% of men will not experience abnormal normal erectile functioning in their lifetime (or into old age).

Decreased PF muscle mass is an example of such pathologic condition. But in my mind, I can only imagine that to be a HUGE secondary case to another primary cause (dec. testosterone, lack of kegel exercise, arterial insufficency, nerve damage)
          My Progress

Comment

For those who are interested in the pathophysiology of ED you can check these links: Discovery Health "Erectile Dysfunction"
            and: Erectile dysfunction: Causes - MayoClinic.com
            which are written in layman's language that most here will understand.

Here is a reasonably decent complete article from the British Journal of Diabetes and Vascular Disease which is available free online: Pathophysiology of erectile dysfunction ? British Journal of Diabetes & Vascular Disease
            This may be too technical for most, buy I think many will not have too much trouble with the "Conclusion" section of this article which I will copy here: